Faith Development


Growing in Faith

At all grade levels, religion instruction is aligned to the standards set by the Diocese of Cleveland, as well as to literacy standards from the state of Ohio. The Religion Curriculum of the Catholic Diocese of Cleveland is organized according to the four pillars of the Catechism of the Catholic Church:

  • The Profession of Faith
  • The Celebration of the Christian Mystery
  • Life in Christ
  • Christian Prayer

These pillars are the organizing framework for each grade of the curriculum, providing unity, continuity, and coherence. In each pillar or unit, essential questions, content, and skills are developed to identify what the learners will know, underdstand, and value in living out their Catholic faith.

In addition to religious instruction, students at St. Dominic School have opportunities to live out their faith through liturgy, prayer, retreat days and service.